1A Football: Toledo's Gaul, Meier Earn Top Trico Honors


    Toledo's Mack Gaul was named co-MVP, and teammate Cody Meier was voted the Defensive Player of the Year in the SWW 1A League Trico Division's All-League football selections.

    Toledo went 5-3 in Trico play, and lost to Hoquiam in a district crossover game to end the season. Gaul, a senior running back and linebacker, was one of the team's key offensive weapons throughout the year, running for 700 yards on 81 carries with eight touchdowns. He added 245 receiving yards and an additional four touchdowns through the air. The two-sport star is also slated to sign a National Letter of Intent to play baseball for the University of Washington on Monday.

    Meier, also a standout running back for the Indians, ran for 767 yards and 10 touchdowns, highlighted by a 148-yard rushing effort against Castle Rock.

    Woodland's Cy Whitmire was also a co-MVP, and La Center's Jared Huddleston was voted the Offensive Player of the Year.

    Toledo offensive lineman Coty Jasper, a senior, was a first-team offensive lineman, as was Indian senior linebacker Danny Aguilar.

    Local second-team selections included wide receiver Sam Holbrook and tight end Ronnie Boone, both of whom are seniors, as well as senior offensive lineman John Buck, junior defensive back Kreed Askin, and senior defensive lineman David Comnick.

    La Center's John Lambert was voted the league's Coach of the Year.

SWW 1A League Trico Division

2012 All-League Football

Co-MVPs: Cy Whitmire, Woodland; Mack Gaul, Toledo

Offensive Player of the Year: Jared Huddleston, La Center

Defensive Player of the Year: Cody Meier, Toledo

Coach of the Year: John Lambert, La Center

Asst. Coach of the Year: Glen Flanagan, Woodland

Middle School Coach of the Year: DJ Millay, La Center

First Team



Hunter Huddleston    Woodland

Running Back

Connor Fulton         La Center

Eli Whitmire            Woodland

Austin Moore           Castle Rock

Wide Receiver

Trevor Huddleston    Woodland

AJ Myers                  La Center

Tight End

Gabe Bunker      La Center

Kyle Hendrix      Woodland

Offensive Line

Will Sauter        Columbia

Easton Stoner    Castle Rock

Coty Jasper       Toledo

Jacob Mendez    La Center

Josh McNeal       La Center

Zach Lacey       Woodland


Gabe Guzman    Columbia


Erik Powell         Seton Catholic

Mike Skreen       Castle Rock

Return Specialist

Austin Moore       Castle Rock


Defensive Back

Nate Williamson    Castle Rock

Austin Moore       Castle Rock

Zach Irwin           Stevenson

Dylan King           La Center


Levi Godinho      Castle Rock

Danny Aguilar    Toledo

Tyrone Kulla       La Center

Jacob Mendez     La Center

Defensive Line

Zach Lacey        Woodland

Will Sauter         Columbia

Easton Stoner    Castle Rock

Andre Obot        La Center

Jerimiah Arn       La Center

Second Team



Dylan King        La Center

Running Back

Levi Godinho       Castle Rock

Ben Childs           Columbia

Wide Receiver

Matt Braaten        La Center

Sam Holbrook       Toledo

Tight End

Ronnie Boone        Toledo

Austin Rabinowitz    Columbia

Offensive Line

Tyler Brown          Kalama

Colton Dow            Castle Rock

Rutger Bialkowsky    Stevenson

John Buck              Toledo

Braden Koering    Woodland

Levi Krout            La Center


Defensive Back

Pacer Said       Castle Rock

Kreed Askin      Toledo

Taylor Dreyer    La Center

Vince Nigro      Woodland


Gabe Montoya    Columbia

Chris O'Connor    Seton

Chase Lam         Castle Rock

Troy Flanagan    Woodland

Defensive Line

Erik Birnel           Woodland

Tanner Bradshaw    Woodland

David Comnick      Toledo

Evan Wiebe           Stevenson

Kasey Wallace      Stevenson

Honorable Mention:

    La Center: Alex Meza, DL; Wyatt Agguire, RB; Max Hiller, LB

    Woodland: Jason Wasson, OL; Branden Preston, OL; Chandler Reyes, OL

    Columbia: Tristan Fink, OL; Juan Mendoza, LB; Lane Munyan, DB        Toledo: Austin Eaton, LB; Daniel Ecthle, OL; Taylor Hick, DB; Nick Smith, OL; Gage Madill, DB; Lakota Rakoz, QB

    Stevenson: Jordan Rodriguez, LB; Josh Anderson, RB; Jacob Schneider, RB; Brandon Van Pelt, DB

    Ilwaco: Cody Wright, OL; Tom Odneal, RB

    Castle Rock: Nick Harriman, DL; Cole Enriquez, OL; Zach Sheldon, LB

    Kalama: Philip Kell, OL; Hunter Esary, LB; Colton Aschoff, RB

    Seton Catholic: Will Noce-Sheldon, QB; C.J. Farrell, OL


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment