Marty, Hughes Win Races in Toledo


Toledo sophomore Treyton Marty and Morton-White Pass senior Ayricka Hughes won the two races at a 2B/1B cross country meet on Thursday that included 10 schools, with Adna, Mossyrock, Oakville, and Rainier attending.

Mossyrock won the team title on the boys side, followed by MWP, Adna, Toledo, and Ilwaco; Rainier was the only school to put five girls on the course.

Marty covered the 5,000-meter course in 17:16, with Adna’s Jordan Stout finishing second in 17:40. Behind them, Mossyrock brought a trio in in a row, with Miguel Gomez (17:46), Hugo Wedam (17:54), and Christian Paz Tapia (18:14) placing third, fourth, and fifth, respectively.

Mossyrock capped off its team score with freshman Luis Contreras (21:16) taking 15th and sophomore Ethan Wedam (21:43) placing 19th.

Morton-White Pass finished second as a team, led by Hunter Bracket (18:29) and Eric Brown (19:08), who went back-to-back at sixth and seventh, respectively. Anthony Snyder finished in 13th at 21:02, Max Lowe was 20th at 22:08, and Aiden Kampa was 21st at 22:16.

James Meldrum led Rainier — which didn’t register a team score — at eighth with a time of 19:17, with teammate Giacomo Ravelli rounding out the top 10 in 20:27.

Conner Olmstead gave Toledo its second top-10 finish in ninth at 19:58.

Hughes won the girls race in 22:56, ahead of Mossyrock freshman Joan Wedam (23:15). Angelica Askey (23:42) and Rayne Tyrrell (24:42) finished third and fourth, respectively, for Rainier, with Tyrrell beating Oakville’s Mercedies Dupont by three seconds.

Brynn Beckman came in sixth for the Mountaineers in 24:51, and Madison Mounts (24:49) was ninth.

Candace Clark led Toledo with a seventh-place time of 25:02. Megan Price and Megan Sout finished 14th and 15th, respectively, for Adna.

Tumwater Takes Day at Home on Wednesday

Tumwater hosted W.F. West, Aberdeen, and Shelton on Wednesday at Pioneer Park, and proceeded to take three of the four crowns available, taking both team wins and seeing senior John Hoffer win the boys race by 35 seconds.

Hoffer covered the dry, 5,000-meter course in 15:38.94, the fifth-best time posted by a 2A runner in the state so far. The T-Birds put their entire score card in the top eight, with Brenden Hamilton (16:50.98), Mason Ball (16:53.04), Reis Howell (17:02.67), and Alan Penrose (17:03.76), taking fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth, respectively.

On the girls’ side, the Thunderbirds were the only school with five runners. Shelton’s Lily Bennett won the race, with Tumwater’s Olivia Ahrens (21:20.93) getting second and Annabelle Clapp (21:43.6) finishing third. Jesse Brumbaugh (22:10.61) was fifth, Rachel Zahn (22:13.5) was sixth, and Audrey Strand (22:14.13) was seventh.

Mercedes Ricks posted W.F. West’s best finish of the afternoon, taking fourth in the girls race with a time of 22:01.7. August Isenhower (30:27) was 10th. On the boys’ side, Jaysen Miles (17:15.49) placed 10th, and Ezra Birchard (18:21.65) was 17th.