Filing Week Ends With Fireworks as Congressional Candidate Drops Out; Commissioner, PUD Races Head for Primary 

Races Are On: Nine Candidates Seek 3rd Congressional District Seat; Five Compete for Lewis County Commission


Candidate filing week ended with some fireworks Friday.

Democratic candidate for the 3rd Congressional District Brent Hennrich stepped out of the race at the last moment. Lewis County Assessor Dianne Dorey didn’t file for a new term after decades in office, setting up a race between two Republican newcomers. And Republican Linda Williams filed Friday to challenge Lewis County Clerk Scott Tinney, who is also a Republican. 

After a week of filing, there are some crowded races that will have to be settled in the August primary election. The top two candidates will move on to the general election. 

First, the candidates who didn’t draw an opponent and will likely coast to general election victories:

  • State Rep. Peter Abbarno, 20th Legsilative District 
  • State Rep Ed Orcutt, 20th Legislative District 
  • Lewis County Prosecutor Jonathan Meyer 
  • Lewis County Treasurer Arny Davis 
  • Lewis County Coroner Warren McLeod 
  • Lewis County Auditor Larry Grove
  • Lewis County District Court Judge Wade Samuelson 
  • Lewis County District Court Judge R.W. Buzzard

While those candidates are unlikely to have any problems, other races are loaded with candidates. 

That’s the case in the 3rd Congressional District, where U.S. Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler is facing challenges from both side of the political aisle. 

Hennrich won’t be one of them though. He went to Twitter just before the end of filing week with news that he was dropping out to back fellow Democrat Marie Gluesenkamp Perez.

"I put my money where my mouth is!" he wrote. “It's been my mantra for this entire race. I spoke with & informed @MGPforCongress yesterday evening that I fight for democracy. So all Dem's PLEASE UNITE BEHIND HER! I know the math. WE CAN #FlipWA03! Please follow & amplify her message.”

There are now nine candidates in the race. 

In addition to candidates who have been active on the campaign trail — Republicans Joe Kent, Heidi St. John and Vicki Kraft and Democrat Gluesenkamp Perez — several lesser known candidates have joined the race. They include Democrat Davy Ray, Republican Leslie French, Independent Chris Byrd and “American Solidarity” party member Oliver Black. 

The race for Lewis County Commissioner in District 3 — which includes East Lewis County — is also packed with candidates. 

On Thursday, Harry O. Bhagwandin became the fifth candidate to file for the position after first unintentionally filing for county assessor. According to Bhagwandin, he had intended to file for county commissioner but he inadvertently selected assessor. He promptly withdrew before refiling for commissioner. Bhagwandin lost a non-refundable $900 filing fee. 

Bhagwandin, who is running as a Republican, joins four other candidates in the race: Scott Brummer, Jodery (Jody) Goble and Pat Saldana, all running as Republicans, as well as Pete D. Krabbe, who is running with “StopThe Steal” listed as his party preference. 

At at the state legislative level, Jon-Erik Hegstad has filed to run against state Rep. Joel McEntire for the 19th District’s Position 2. Hegstad has filed to run with “Progressive Dem” listed as his party preference. McEntire is also being challenged by Cara Cusack, a Chehalis resident who listed her party preference as Democrat. 

McEntire’s seatmate for the 19th District, Rep. Jim Walsh, has also been challenged by Kelli Hughes Ham, a public school educator from Ilwaco who’s running as a Democrat. 

Neither the 19th or 20th legislative districts’ senate seats are up for election in 2022.

In Lewis County government, Tom Crowson, a Republican from Chehalis, has filed to run for Lewis County assessor, along with fellow Republican Ross Nielson, a Winlock resident. They will work to replace Dorey, who is ending the longest run of any Lewis County elected official   

The sheriff’s office remained a two-man race between incumbent Rob Snaza and challenger Tracy Murphy, a detective sergeant with the Centralia Police Department. Both candidates are Republicans. 

Three candidates filed for Lewis County PUD Commissioner in District 3 — Kevin Emerson, of Salkum, Tim Cournyer, of Mossyrock, and Mike Hadaller, of Salkum. 

Incumbent U.S. Senator Patty Murray had 17 challengers in her race for a sixth term representing Washington. 

Steve Hobbs, who was appointed by Gov. Jay Inslee last year to replace Kim Wyman as Secretary of State after she stepped down to take a job in the Biden Administration, is seeking his first election to the office. Hobbs is opposed by Julie Anderson, the Pierce County auditor who filed as a non-partisan candidate, and Keith Wagoner, a Republican state senator representing the 39th Legislative District. Hobbs is also joined by Bob Hagglund and Mark Miloscia, both running as Republicans, Marquez Tiggs, who is running as a Democrat, Tambourine Borrelli, who is running with the party preference “America First (R)” and Kurtis Engle, who is running with the party preference of “Union.”

In addition to larger races, dozens of candidates have filed for precinct committee officer positions across the county. In all in Lewis County, there were 203 candidates filed for 113 offices.

Candidates wishing to withdraw must do so by Monday, May 23. Forms can be filed electronically, by mail or in person and must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. Filing fees are not refundable. Withdrawal forms are available on the elections website under the “Forms” tab on the left or in person at the auditor’s office.

If no individual files for specific positions, those positions will have a special three-day filing period at the auditor’s office from May 25 to May 27. If no candidate files for an office during the special filing period, the office shall be lapsed and deemed stricken from the ballot with no write-in votes counted and no candidate certified as elected. There is no three-day special filing period for PCO positions.

To see which offices are open for election or candidates who have filed, go to the elections website under “Candidate Information,” select “2022 Offices Open for Election” to see offices, incumbents and filing fees. Select “Candidates Who Have Filed” to view up-to-date candidate filings.

To view an updated list of candidates and the races they have filed for, visit


Look for updated stories on local races beginning next week at and in Tuesday's edition.