Eleven Area Players Named to Earl Barden Rosters


Eleven local gridiron stars got invites to the Earl Barden Classic, as the 2A/1A/2B/1B all-star game announced its rosters Wednesday.

The majority of those, naturally, will represent Western Washington at the game, held in June in Yakima. Deacon Parker and Mario Lara will represent 2B state champion Napavine, with Adna’s Jaxon Dunnagan, Morton-White Pass’ Hunter Hazen, Toledo’s Geoffrey Glass, and Pe Ell-Willapa Valley’s Garrett Keeton also coming from the local 2B ranks.

Mossyrock’s Keegan Kolb will jump up from the eight-man game to participate, and Tenino’s Randall Marti earned a nod as well. The West team will be coached by Raymond-South Bend’s Luke Abbott, who is bringing two of his own assistants, but he also will have Tenino’s Cary Nagel alongside him as an assistant coach.

Playing on the other side of the field will be three players from W.F. West, which flipped over to the East to balance out the ranks. 2A EvCo MVP Daniel Matagi, along with league Offensive Player of the Year Gavin Fugate and two-way first-team all-league lineman William Buzzard will suit up to represent the Bearcats, joining forces with the best the eastern side of the state has to offer.